Camerata Rousseau

The Orchestra

 

The Camerata Rousseau (CR) is an orchestra that plays the repertoire of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries on historical instruments. Its initiator, Leonardo Muzii, was encouraged and supported in the founding of the orchestra by a group of musicians who were then studying at the early music department of Geneva University of Music (HEM). Their attachment to this city and to the repertoire of the eighteenth century inspired the choice of the name, an explicit reference to Jean-Jacques Rousseau, the Geneva philosopher-musicologist composer of the Age of Enlightenment. The ensemble made its debut in 2014 with concerts in Geneva, Basel and Zurich.

 

The orchestra is recognised by the Canton of Basel-Stadt as a non-profit association, where many of its musicians have come to the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis (SCB) of the Fach Hochschule Nord West (FHNW) to complete their training in Historically Informed Performance Practice (HIP). As a result, the Camerata Rousseau is an ensemble with an international background in which different languages, cultures and music schools from different Swiss cantons and abroad coexist and complement each other.

 

Leonardo Muzii's vision is to combine the richness of diversity with interpretative and artistic coherence.

The repertoire - not only Mozart!

 

The repertoire of Viennese classical music, which is usually performed in concerts, consists of a relatively small number of works, most of which originate from the Mozart-Haydn-Beethoven-Triad. The public's attention is therefore focused on these works, the performers are trained in this repertoire, and it has been a priority on the music stages for generations.

In contrast, the Camerata Rousseau is not only aimed at Mozart, but also at lesser known authors. For example, our project "Mozart versus Kozeluh" has enabled us to deepen our knowledge of the Bohemian composer Leopold Kozeluh and to measure ourselves against some of his works that are still free of the crystallization of interpretative traditions.

 

This pioneering work brings to light previously unknown works - sometimes masterpieces - and, by juxtaposing them with the consolidated repertoire, opens up new perspectives for judgment and reflection.

Camerata Rousseau
Leonardo Muzii, artistic director
Greifengasse 38
CH-4058 Basle, Switzerland
Other Coordinates
© Camerata Rousseau 2019
Orchestra members area

Camerata Rousseau

Das Orchester

 

Die Camerata Rousseau ist ein Orchester, welches das Repertoire des achtzehnten und neunzehnten Jahrhunderts auf historischen Instrumenten spielt. Sein Initiator, Leonardo Muzii, wurde bei der Gründung des Orchesters von einer Gruppe von Musikern ermutigt und unterstützt, die zu jener Zeit am Département de Musique Ancienne der Haute école de Musique (HEM) in Genf studierten. Die Verbundenheit mit dieser Stadt und mit dem Repertoire des achtzehnten Jahrhunderts inspirierte zur Wahl des Namens, ein ausdrücklicher Hinweis auf Jean-Jacques Rousseau, den Genfer Philosophen-Musikwissenschaftler-Komponisten des Zeitalters der Aufklärung. Das Ensemble debütierte 2014 mit Konzerten in Genf, Basel und Zürich.

Das Orchester ist vom Kanton Basel-Stadt als gemeinnütziger Verein anerkannt, wo viele seiner Musiker zur Schola Cantorum Basiliensis (SCB) der Fach Hochschule Nord West Schweiz (FHNW) gekommen sind, um ihre Ausbildung in der Historically Informed Performance Practice (HIP) abzuschliessen. In der Folge ist die Camerata Rousseau ein Ensemble mit internationalem Hintergrund, in dem verschiedene Sprachen, Kulturen und Musikschulen aus verschiedenen Schweizer Kantonen und dem Ausland nebeneinander existieren und sich ergänzen.

Leonardo Muziis Vision ist es, den Reichtum der Heterogenität mit interpretativer Einheit und künstlerischer Kohärenz zu verbinden.

Das Repertoire - nicht nur Mozart!

 

Das Repertoire der Wiener Klassik, das üblicherweise in Konzerten aufgeführt wird, besteht aus einer relativ kleinen Anzahl von Werken, die meist aus der Mozart-Haydn-Beethoven-Triade stammen. Die Aufmerksamkeit der Öffentlichkeit richtet sich daher auf diese Werke, die Interpreten werden in diesem Repertoire geschult, und es hat seit Generationen auf den Musikbühnen Priorität.

Im Gegensatz dazu zielt die Camerata Rousseau nicht nur auf Mozart, sondern auch auf weniger bekannte Autoren. So hat uns beispielsweise unser Projekt "Mozart versus Kozeluh" ermöglicht, unser Wissen über den böhmischen Komponisten Leopold Kozeluh zu vertiefen und uns an einigen seiner Werke zu messen, die noch frei von der Kristallisation interpretativer Traditionen sind.

Diese Pionierarbeit bringt bisher unbekannte Werke – manchmal Meisterwerke – ans Licht, und eröffnet durch die Gegenüberstellung mit dem konsolidierten Repertoire neue Perspektiven für Urteil und Reflexion.

Camerata Rousseau
Leonardo Muzii, künstlerischer Leiter
Greifengasse 38
CH-4058 Basel, Schweiz
© Camerata Rousseau 2019
Orchestra members area